Linnoitus

sights / Military

Linnoitus information

Prices
fortress free, adult/child combined museum ticket €9/free
Opening hours
10am-6pm Mon-Fri, 11am-5pm Sat & Sun Jun-late Aug, 11am-5pm Tue-Sun late Aug-May
Something wrong?
Submit a correction

Standing guard above the harbour, this hulking hilltop fortification was begun by the Swedes and finished by the Russians in the late 18th century. Today it contains galleries, craft workshops and fascinating museums, including the history-focused South Karelian Museum , Cavalry Museum and South Karelia Art Museum . Its Orthodox Church , Finland’s oldest church, was completed in 1785 by Russian soldiers. Pick up the tourist office's free walking guide The Fortress of Lappeenranta .