St Mary's Lutheran Church
Otepää’s Gothic hilltop church dates from 1671, although it was largely reconstructed in 1890. Inside there’s intricate woodwork,...
Operating out of the Karupesa Hotel in winter, this outfit rents cross-country skis (three hours/day €7/13), downhill skis (€10/13) and...
Otepää Forest Adventure Park
Explore the treetops on a high ropes course (adult/child €20/10) or the shrubbery on the kid's adventure trail (must be 90cm to 120cm...
In an octagonal building draped in ski memorabilia in the centre of town, the 'bear pub' has a loyal local following. It's a good spot...
The pretty tree-covered hill south of the church was an ancient Estonian stronghold for around 800 years before it was topped by an episcopal castle in 1224. Known as the 'Bear's Head' (oti pää), it's from this that the town takes its name. Remnants of the fortifications remain on the top along with wonderful views of the surrounding valleys. The castle was largely destroyed in 1396 in a battle between the Bishop of Tartu and the Livonian Order.