Lacock Abbey information
Lacock Abbey is a window into a medieval world. Founded as an Augustinian nunnery in the 13th century, its deeply atmospheric rooms and stunning Gothic entrance hall are lined with bizarre terracotta figures; spot the scapegoat with a lump of sugar on its nose. Some of the original structure is evident in the cloisters and there are traces of medieval wall paintings too. On Tuesdays year-round and winter weekdays, access is limited to the cloisters.
Ela, Countess of Salisbury established the abbey in 1232. After the Dissolution it was sold to Sir William Sharington in 1539, who converted the nunnery into a home, demolished the church, built a tower and added a brewery.
The ticket into the abbey also includes admission to the Fox Talbot Museum , which profiles the man who pioneered the photographic negative: William Henry Fox Talbot (1800–77). A prolific inventor, he began developing the system in 1834 while working at the abbey. The museum details his ground-breaking work and displays a superb collection of his images.
A cheaper ticket (adult/child £8.50/4.50) gets you into the grounds, museum and abbey cloisters, but not the abbey building itself.