go to content go to search box go to global site navigation

Flights

Flights to China

The best price found from United States to China is on September 5th, 2016, travelling with . See more options, compare prices and book: search flights.

IAD
Washington Dulles
from $444.00
PEK
Beijing Capital

Getting around by air

Airlines Flying To & From China

The following list comprises the main airlines flying into Běijīng, Hong Kong, Shànghǎi, Guǎngzhōu and Macau.

Aeroflot Russian Airlines (www.aeroflot.ru)

Air Canada (www.aircanada.ca)

Air China (www.airchina.com)

Air France (www.airfrance.com)

Air Macau (www.airmacau.com.mo)

Air New Zealand (www.airnewzealand.com)

AirAsia (www.airasia.com)

Alitalia (www.alitalia.com)

All Nippon Airways (www.ana.co.jp)

American Airlines (www.aa.com)

Asiana Airlines (www.flyasiana.com)

British Airways (www.britishairways.com)

Cathay Pacific (www.cathaypacific.com)

China Airlines (www.china-airlines.com) Direct flights from Taiwan to numerous other cities in China.

China Eastern Airlines (www.ce-air.com)

China Southern Airlines (www.cs-air.com)

Dragonair (www.dragonair.com)

Emirates Airline (www.emirates.com)

Garuda Indonesia (www.garuda-indonesia.com)

Hong Kong Airlines (www.hkairlines.com)

Japan Airlines (www.jal.com)

KLM (www.klm.nl)

Korean Air (www.koreanair.com) Flies to Qīngdǎo and Shěnyáng.

Lao Airlines Flights to Jǐnghóng, Kūnmíng and Guǎngzhōu.

Lufthansa Airlines (www.lufthansa.com)

Malaysia Airlines (www.malaysiaairlines.com)

MIAT Mongolian Airlines (www.miat.com)

Nepal Airlines (www.nepalairlines.com.np)

Pakistan International Airlines (www.piac.com.pk)

Philippine Airlines (www.philippineairlines.com)

Qantas Airways (www.qantas.com.au)

Scandinavian Airlines (www.sas.dk)

Silk Air (www.silkair.com)

Singapore Airlines (www.singaporeair.com)

Swiss International Airlines (www.swiss.com)

Thai Airways International (www.thaiairways.com)

Tiger Airways (www.tigerairways.com)

United Airlines (www.ual.com)

Uzbekistan Airways (www.uzairways.com)

Vietnam Airlines (www.vietnamair.com.vn)

Virgin Atlantic (www.virgin-atlantic.com)

Tickets

The cheapest tickets to Hong Kong and China exist on price comparison websites or in discount agencies in Chinatowns around the world. Budget and student-travel agents offer cheap tickets, but the real bargains are with agents that deal with the Chinese, who regularly return home. Airfares to China peak between June and September.

The cheapest flights to China are with airlines requiring a stopover at the home airport, such as Air France to Běijīng via Paris, or Malaysia Airlines to Běijīng via Kuala Lumpur.

The best direct ticket deals are available from China’s international carriers, such as China Eastern Airlines, Air China or China Southern Airlines.

Firms such as STA Travel (www.statravel.co.uk) have offices worldwide and offer competitive prices to most destinations. Beyond internet travel websites – Expedia (www.expedia.com) and Travelocity (www.travelocity.com) for example – flight comparison websites weigh up the best prices from airline websites, travel agents, search engines and other online sources and are highly versatile, but tend to quote similar fares. They include the following:

Fly.com (www.fly.com)

Kayak (www.kayak.com)

Momondo (www.momondo.com)

Travelsupermarket (www.travelsupermarket.com)

Skyscanner (www.skyscanner.net)

Airports

Hong Kong, Běijīng and Shànghǎi are China’s principal international air gateways; Báiyún International Airport in Guǎngzhōu is of lesser, but growing, importance.

Báiyún International Airport In Guǎngzhōu; receiving an increasing number of international flights.

Capital Airport Běijīng’s international airport; three terminals.

Hong Kong International Airport The futuristic passenger terminal consists of eight levels, with check-in on level seven, departures on level six and arrivals on level five.

Outlets (including bank branches, moneychangers and five ATMs) total 150, and there are more than 30 cafes, restaurants and bars, and more than 280 check-in counters.

Designed by British architect Sir Norman Foster, the airport was the world’s largest civil engineering project when it opened in mid-1998, and is on Chek Lap Kok, a largely man-made island off the northern coast of Lantau. It is connected to the mainland by several spans. Among them is the 2.2km-long Tsing Ma Bridge, which is one of the world’s largest suspension bridges and is capable of supporting both road and rail transport, including the 34km-long Airport Express high-speed train from Hong Kong Island to Chek Lap Kok via Kowloon.

Hóngqiáo Airport In Shànghǎi’s west; domestic flights, some international connections.

Pǔdōng International Airport In Shànghǎi’s east; international flights.