go to content go to search box go to global site navigation



Tarija was founded as La Villa de San Bernardo de Tarixa, by Don Luis de Fuentes y Vargas on July 4, 1574, under the orders of Viceroy Don Francisco de Toledo. In 1810 the region declared independence from Spanish rule. Although the breakaways weren’t taken seriously by the Spanish, the situation did erupt into armed warfare on April 15, 1817. At the Batalla de la Tablada, the chapacos won a major victory over the Spanish forces. In the early 19th century, Tarija actively supported Bolivia’s struggle for independence. Although Argentina was keen to annex the agriculturally favorable area, Tarija opted to join the Bolivian Republic when it was established in 1825.