Introducing St David's Island
So often overlooked, St David's Island offers a glimpse of Bermuda at its least touristed. The village of St David's, tucked into the east of the island, maintains a more timeless, unchanged character than other Bermudian communities. Its pastel buildings are not fancy but they are picturesque in the late afternoon light. The village simply abounds with flowering hibiscus and is a particularly fun place to kick around on a motor scooter.
Until 1934, when the first bridge was built between St David's Island and St George's Island, St David's could only be reached by boat. For the most part, it was an isolation that was cherished by its inhabitants, a substantial number of whom are of Mahican ancestry - the descendants of native North Americans taken from the colonies during British Indian raids in the early 17th century.
In 1941 most of St David's Island was turned over to the US military for the development of a naval air station, and the residents, reluctant to leave St David's, were concentrated at the eastern end of the island.
In 1995 the US military finally left and returned the base lands to the Bermudian government. Large tracts of the former base still serve as Bermuda's airport, and the rest of the land is gradually being converted to civilian use. Some of the former base buildings are gaining a second life as new startup businesses and the old military homes are being renovated into affordable housing for first-time homeowners.