Australian Antarctic Division

Australian Antarctic Division information

Kingston , Australia
203 Channel Hwy
+61 3 6232 3209
More information
Opening hours
8.30am-5pm Mon-Fri
Something wrong?
Submit a correction

Just south of Kingston is the government HQ responsible for administering Australia’s 42% wedge of the frozen continent. Australia has a long history of exploration and scientific study of Antarctica : it’s one of the original 12 nations that ratified the Antarctic Treaty in 1961. Visitors can check out the displays here, which feature Antarctic equipment, clothing and scientific vehicles, plus ecological info and some brilliant photographs. There's a cafe here, too.