Lonely Planet review
The old Telegraph Station, which used to relay messages between Darwin and Adelaide, offers a fascinating glimpse of the town's European beginnings. Built along the Overland Telegraph Line (OTL) in the 1870s, the station continued to operate until 1932. It later served as a welfare home for Aboriginal children of mixed ancestry until 1963. The building has been faithfully restored and guided tours operate roughly on the hour between 9am and 4.30pm (April to October). Nearby is the original 'Alice' spring (Thereyurre to the Arrernte Aboriginal people), a semipermanent waterhole in the Todd River after which the town is named.
It's all set in 450 hectares of shady parkland with free BBQs (alcohol permitted) and walking trails. The best is the 30-minute loop to Trig Hill , returning via the original station cemetery.
It's an easy 4km walk or cycle north to the station from Todd Mall; follow the path on the western side of the riverbed.